40 Days of Writing

So happy to be here and to have a wonderful prompt to write. Thank you Kate Graham. I’ve had the winter blues recently, and am hopeful that a little writing and a little bike riding each day will pull me out of it. But, don’t get me wrong, it’s kind of nice to have an excuse to curl up with a tall glass of wine and relax while its cold and rainy outside.

Lot’s of stuff coming up this year. Graduation: June. Wedding: August. Lots of endings that create big beginnings. I feel like am extensive chapter of my life is about to come to a close, but that closure opens up a whole new can of awesome worms. It’s exciting and terrifying.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about the future. I am unhappy at my job. Why am I unhappy? What job would I actually enjoy? Why don’t I feel motivated?

So this is what I know. I know that I love being with friends and family. I know that I physically miss my family back East while I cannot pull myself away from the West coast. I know I am inspired by my peers, itching to put that inspiration to work, and clueless and scared where to start. I know that I am frustrated by the system in which we live, where women’s health is a tool for political gain and I feel uncomfortable talking to my neighbor. I know I am more satisfied by hard work than laziness, even when laziness is so much more appealing than anything else. I know I want the world to be better. I know that it can be better.

As graduation approaches I am getting more and more questions of, “so, what do you want to do? I thought it would be more clear after BGI, but somehow it’s more cloudy. Maybe the more I study and learn, the more confused I become. Somehow the more skills and tools I acquire the more daunting the task before me appears.

4 thoughts on “40 Days of Writing

  1. I know what its like to love the west coast but have family back east. I have been in San Francisco for for almost five years now, I came here for culinary school and been working in restaurants ever since. If it wasn’t for me meeting my girlfriend of almost four years i probably would of move back. But its the comfort from her family that i get a sense of home. In the end though… when do I go home ?

  2. Amy, thanks for writing! I so enjoyed your post, and hope to continue seeing them. Yes this 2012 is a HUGE year for you and for PTH, and set to be such a better year than 2011 was to our family. I will be watching, reading, and hopefully joining in some of the festivity!

  3. I remember such a time, and then later in life times and times again. Someone once said we should change our usual career up to keep it new and fresh and challenging. It was daunting, but over 23 years of my career, that is how I worked it. And I loved my life and life loved me. Best of everything!

  4. you know, i never know what to say when people ask me what i want to do for work. for some reason, saying that i want to help create positive change isn’t a good enough answer (which is bullshit, if you ask me). i think this is something we have in common–we feel passionately about a lot of things and why would we ever want to limit ourselves? that’s no fun. i truly think that the right job, our right livelihood, is a warm, glowing feeling. it’s not a job description or a job title, it’s definitely not something we can put into words, because it’s bigger than that. i have confidence that you and i will find it. and that warm, glowing feeling will only grow stronger.

Leave a Reply

